AGM 2018 Complete

By James Myburgh on Aug 23, 2018

For those who were not in attendance; last Friday night DBYC held its Annual General Meeting. 

Emerging from the winter hibernation, there was a wide array of friendly faces, from those of the founding members to the younger members just finding their feet. Alongside the social mingling, the evening went by smoothly attending to the required business. 

Of note was the departure of a considerable portion of the Management Committee, in which we saw the retirement from the management committee of, Peter Ryall, a past commodore and a founding member. Other departing members include  Vise Commodore Phil Hughes, Rear Commodore Seniors Sailing Klaus Schmechtig, Hon Secretary Rhys Ainsworth, Hon Treasurer Bryn Seargent and, committee member, Nicolas Lewis.

As for those remaining, we have the stepping down of immediate past commodore, Graeme Missen, into a role of general committee member, while former Rear Commodore Sailing Juniors Peter Hales will be taking on the top job as Commodore, meanwhile Morgan Flower and Myself will be remaining as general committee members.  The new crew replacements consist of, in the whites, Nuno Carneiro stepping into the shoes of Vise Commodore, Kane Davies and Jason Donnan, as Rear Commodores of Juniors and Seniors respectively. Secretary will be occupied by Victoria Verity whilst everyone will be kept in line by Treasurer Toni Carneiro. Vacant  Committee positions will be occupied Kate Hunt, John Horley and  Peter Wagner.

Overall the evening was very enjoyable, with a productive meeting followed by a fun social dinner with a an impressive spread of food and drinks. a special thanks is due to all those who participated in the catering. and thanks to all in attendance, with the presence of distinguish guests, Patron the Hon Barry House and Vise Patron Libby Mettham MLA, very much appreciated.